Snow Crash

I just started reading Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. I came across a reference to this book while reading about transhumanism and technological singularities. Very interesting stuff, available through wikipedia. I was made aware of these theories through some of the science-fiction books I read, mainly Dan Simmon’s Illium and Olympos and Alastair Reynolds Revelation Space novels. Speaking of which, a new collection of novella in the Revelation Space universe is coming out this fall. its called Galactic North. It’s an interesting trend in scifi lit, especially the theories governing posthumans.

I knew of neal stephenson because of his 1999 novel Cryptonomicon. At the time i was studying math and someone that this would a great read for me. I have to say I enjoyed it a lot. I’ve been trying for the last year to read the Baroque Cycle, but i have failed in my attempts. I will try again later on, maybe after having reread the Cryptonomicon, since the Baroque Cycle provides a lot of background on the characters that appeared there. I guess it’s probably because I was expecting scifi and ended up with a mostly historical novel. It reminds me of the summer I tried and succeeded in reading War and Peace.

I just learned that Neal Stephenson has provided a wiki named the Quicksilver wiki for the Baroque Cycle. I just love wikipedia. It’s one of the best reference tools. One article just leads to another and another, a vast repository of information, much more actualized through web 2.0 and a form of blogging than any other encyclopedia. It took some time for the content to stabilize and to sophisticate, but its a mainstay of web 2.0.

technobubble36.gif digg.png newsvine.png reddit.png

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,458 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,458 other followers

