Synchronicity of dreams or how relationships need work

A monster of a post on a Saturday, clocking close to 2000 words. In this post I cover the movie Break Up, Chartreuse, Aquaman and Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip TV pilots reviewed, Architecture of Pain and Fragmentation of Family, Synchronicity of Dreams, Rocketboom, some Big Brother UK and Australia, some linkage and more!

Today’s featured photographer is khushroo with his impossible colors and definition. Check out his/her flickr site!

Index of this post

  1. Movie review: The Break Up
  2. Chartreuse
  3. Aquaman TV pilot review
  4. Pushing Ice by Alastair Reynolds Book Review
  5. Architecture of Pain, Introduction
  6. Fragmentation of Family, Introduction
  7. Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip TV pilot review
  8. Synchronicity of Dreams, Part I
  9. On Galactic Rim and other writings
  10. Rocketboom
  11. Big Brother UK and Big Brother Australia
  12. Linkage

 

The Break Up movie review

 

I couldn’t believe the brother of Brooke (Jenifer Aniston) sang “Owner of a lonely heart” in Vince Vaughn’s face for about 10 minutes. Symptomatic about marriages and long term relationships, the movie is about how couples drift apart.

 

We don’t do anything together anymore.

 

This is one of the more poignant quotes of the movie. It’s definitely taken out of real life.

 

Women congregate and talk together about everything. People are the way that they are.

I found this movie somewhat hard to watch because I could draw some peculiar parallels in my own life. Maybe that is also why I decided to watch this movie.

 

Without working on their relationships, people will grow apart.

 

Brooke is an art dealer. Vaughn’s character is part of a tour bus business. This is the story about their breakup.

 

It is funny how everybody around them assumes that their relationship is over and how they let it influence them.

 

You are an outdoor cat that has become and indoor cat.

Chartreuse

 

Meanwhile, Char over at Chartreuse has been on a blogging spree since his return from NYC and the formation of the 1st likemind. One of his most popular posts made it into the #1 spot in WP, and his blog is in the #2.

 

Aquaman TV pilot

 

This new show from the creators of Smallville was not picked up by the CW network. I’m not surprised. I have never been a fan of Smallville, which is a reduced and infantilized version of the Superman mythos tailored for young adults in a soap opera (Dawson’s Creek, The OC) format. I was barely able to watch the pilot of Smallville.

 

Destiny is like a riptide, you never know when it’s going to get you.

Ving Rhames’s character in Aquaman.

 

I’m surprised to say that the baddie in this pilot is a mermaid/siren. Wow, scary!

 

Sex & Violence in Shakespeare! Oh yeah!

 

Pushing Ice by Alastair Reynolds

 

I’m still into my revue and rereading of Alastair Reynolds novels to research some ideas for Galactic Rim. I just finished it today. I started it on Wednesday.

 

It’s nice to be able to enjoy reading again, I’ve missed it.

 

Pushing Ice is a story about the crew of the Rockhopper, a comet mining ship, that is sent to investigate why Janus, one of Saturn’s moons, suddenly broke of orbit and is accelerating towards Spica.

 

They get caught in the slipstream wake of the moon, which is really a machine underneath all that ice, and time passes slowly for them whilst time passes faster and faster on Earth. They form a rag tag colony in hope of surviving as long as possible, with crises and political intrigue befuddling and mucking relationships between friends and colleagues.

As the novel enfolds, it becomes apparent that something had gone drastically wrong for the crew of the Rockhopper and that they are not when and where they thought they were. And that something has happened to humanity and they are not sure what. Alastair Reynolds is quite adept at presenting non-humanoid lifeforms in a believable scenario. There are a lot of twists and turns in the evolution of the story, which spans a few decade of relative time. There are also quite a few surprises when the full details are revealed towards the end of the novel.

 

As with all Alastair Reynolds novels, this one is a sort of hard fiction. However, since alien machinery and life forms intervene, it can’t be classified as such. Though that does not detract from the work, it still gives some interesting story arcs. This novel is not in RS universe, it starts out in 2053, a near future where Earth is ruled by the United Economic Entities – Mega corps. This is a great theme that first was explored in the cyberpunk genre, where companies had taken over the world and where a lot more powerful than countries. Thought the novel ends somewhere in the long lost future, it gives reason why we won’t encounter alien life forms in the centuries to come.

Reynolds takes it to another extreme, where the megacorps actually founded a UN type political entity. Though this is present in this novel, it isn’t an integral part of the storyline.

 

Also, Reynolds does involve aliens in his RS universe as part of the main plot. This would mean that Reynolds actually writes a different genre than hard science fiction, though the technology of humans in RS is all hard science compliant. It’s been said that Reynolds blends genres and is part of the new weird movement, like Neil Gaiman. I tend to agree with this hypothesis.

The Architecture of Pain, Introduction

 

Why are there so many more variations of pain than pleasure? Is it because pain reminds us that we are still alive? I heard somewhere that writers need to experience pain in order to write. Right now, both of my forearms are aching because I’ve been writing so much over the last week. It’s 35 Celsius and I am wearing bandages. I will pursue this line of inquiry in another post.

The Fragmentation of Family, Introduction

 

I stand on the cusp of a fragmented family, with my parents in Toronto for the rest of the year, my sister in Trois-Rivières, and my wife in Vancouver. I will be moving to BC in September but this is the first time it will happen in my life that all of my immediate relatives will be in different provinces in relationship to themselves and to myself as well.

What does this mean for family? This will also be expanded upon in another post.

 

What is built endures.

Mira Furlan as Ambassador Delenn in Babylon 5

Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip TV pilot review

 

This show is a fresh new drama from Aaron Sorkin and the team behind the recently cancelled show The West Wing. Some of the actors have been recycled and there are some similarities to the general feel of the show compared to the West Wing.

 

The show is about a Saturday Night Live type of show on the fictional network NBS that gets a Network type intervention from its creator, on air. Amanda Peet plays Jordan McTeguere who does damage control. I really enjoy Peet and I am glad to see her in a drama and not a comedy for once. I don’t know if her stony seductive stares are either incredible acting or just plain boredom. Nevertheless, I found her quite refreshing on Studio 60, definitely the strongest character. Matt Leblanc plays a comedy writer who takes over the show after Judd Hirsch sabotages it.

 

Synchronicity of Dreams, Part I

 

Like most writers, I use my dreams sometimes as inspiration. I remember this one that I had over a decade ago about Jedi Knights getting attacked by glass men. Today, I took a short nap. I didn’t sleep enough last night, only a few hours, and I had to clean the place before the realtor came by this morning.

 

My nap was anything but relaxing. I haven’t had nightmares since I was a child. Mostly, I have dreams that might disturb me from time to time, but that’s it. I wonder if it’s because I got used to fear and was able to beat it in my dreams or just because I got desensitized.

 

I remember this one dream that a lot of people must have had. I am in the street I live in Heidelberg, Germany. I am running. I see a steam roller coming after me. It’s going to squish me into the street. And I can’t escape it.

Over the years, since I have had a dream journal for some time (on and off), I noticed that most dreams come in sequences that our mind tries to make sense of and interrelate between them. I have been able to influence what happens in my dreams to channel something that I find more interesting. This is useful when things might come up that you don’t want to face or change the dream into something more interesting.

 

The best dreams I have had involve flying. Well, it’s not flying per se. It’s actually being almost weightless and being able to jump really high. I remember once being able to use a very thin branch to step off and jump into the sky. Sometimes I wonder why I can’t fly in my dreams. Only jump. But the jumping and sense of freedom is incredible.

 

Anyways, to get back to my nap dream, I took a nap to relax after having read a bit. And I didn’t have a good relaxing sleep. I woke up fitful and somewhat disturbed by what I had dreamed about. I felt really tired and it took a while before I was able to rouse myself to walk the dog.

When problems arise, or impasses are reached, I like to sleep on them in order to see if I can’t come up with interesting solutions with my dreams.

 

Sometimes, I get this weird feeling of déjà vu. It happens from time to time and is quite eerie. It’s like you had seen this situation before and you are living it again. Naturally, these are for the most trivial of things, such as a party or going to a bar or something else that won’t change anything, but still they are perplexing.

On Galactic Rim and other writings

 

I am progressing at an adequate speed on Galactic Rim. I will publish over the weekend a new chapter. I am also in the process of writing a few other short stories. Depending on how long the story arc in Galactic Rim will be, I will then publish some new stories as well. For the moment, I am also concentrating on Post Mortem, a story about posthumanity in the distant future. This enables me to let the technology run somewhat a lot further than I have in Galactic Rim.

Rocketboom

 

Is down! From Thursday to Friday, there weren’t any new episodes. Baron mentions that from Monday onwards, there will be timely episodes on the news. On another twist, it was mentioned on Amanda Congdon’s blog that Baron had already shot the 1st episode with the new host JoCo on July 4th, a long time before he announced that Congdon wouldn’t do the show anymore.

Big Brother UK

 

It was no surprise that Michael (“God is love, I am love so I am God.” [Ed. Note: this is what we call a sophism.]) and Spiral (“I’ll do anything to ya”) have been evicted from the BBUK house. The last few days have been quite emotional with the prisoner task. The prisoners, having successfully completed their task, received letters from home. Most moving was Richard’s letter that informed him that his Mom was out of chemo. Pete was paroled and didn’t receive a letter from home. This caused him some distress, demonstrated by the crocodile tears streaming down his face.

Big Brother Australia

 

For some reason it looked like the lines of communication between me and Australia had shut down but where finally reopened today. I’m still reviewing episodes from last Wednesday. Nothing earth shattering happened since then, except that the housemates have been able to augment the pot to AU511000$. Like mentioned before, Chris was evicted on Wednesday in a surprise eviction.

 

Also, the housemates moms entered the house on Saturday.

Linkage

Lanier’s essay on wisdom of the crowds intitled Digital Maoism.

 

Excellent essay on the wisdom of crowds through community news tools like digg.

 

New form of journalism

Getting more credibility off Digg and Reddit

 


If you liked this post, share or save it with others using the icons below.

technobubble36.gif   digg.png   newsvine.png   nowpublic.jpg   reddit.png   netscape.gif   tailrank.png   yahoomyweb.png   delicious.jpg   blinkbits.png   co.mments.gif   stumbleupon.png   webride.gif   paypal_16x16.gif   scoopt.gif   rss.png


15 Responses to “Synchronicity of dreams or how relationships need work”


  1. 1 isulong seoph July 30, 2006 at 22:43

    the pics are nice. very surreal. i know jen aniston’s new flick, and i’m eager to watch that!

  2. 2 range July 30, 2006 at 23:37

    Hey Isolong!

    Yeah, I normally dont like her movies that much. But I did like Friends With Money as well as Along Came Polly and Derailed. Im glad that she is doing better movies in the last few years. The Break Up was good. I didnt mind seeing it.

    Oh, and welcome to The Memoirs.

  3. 3 Robert Bruce July 31, 2006 at 01:51

    Dude, you are becoming a master at this game…

  4. 4 range July 31, 2006 at 02:25

    Well hello Mr Bruce, thanks for stopping by and thanks for your comments.

    I am working hard at it. I’ve just come up with a new idea and it will be presented in my next few posts. The Meta-Post.

    Welcome to The Memoirs.

  5. 5 charles ravndal July 31, 2006 at 13:02

    Very nice pictures. I cant help but stare at those pictures especially the one with the mountain view. Hmmmm I will be checking out this Aquaman film

  6. 6 range July 31, 2006 at 13:12

    Hey Chas. It’s a TV pilot that’s available right now. It wasn’t picked up the CW network, which is the merged network of the WB and UPN. It’s from the creators of Smallville.


  1. 1 Sleepless In Ottawa « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on May 9, 2008 at 01:50
  2. 2 House of Suns by Alastair Reynolds « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on May 17, 2009 at 04:23
  3. 3 June and July Books Annotated « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on August 4, 2009 at 15:42
  4. 4 August Books Annotated « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on September 10, 2009 at 17:04
  5. 5 Absolution Gap By Alastari Reynolds: Things I Disliked « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on October 21, 2010 at 00:33
  6. 6 Absolution Gap By Alastair Reynolds: Things I Disliked « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on October 21, 2010 at 00:38
  7. 7 Terminal World By Alastair Reynolds « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on November 28, 2010 at 19:03
  8. 8 2010 in Books Annotated « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on February 5, 2011 at 19:25
  9. 9 NPR’s Top 100 Science-Fiction & Fantasy 2011 « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on September 1, 2011 at 15:28

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

