Whistler, new summer TV series reviewed

This post is part of the meta-post My Second Life or how we are creating a new generation of Otakus. This post contains the initial review of the new summer TV series Whistler.

This is a new summer teen drama show on CTV. It starts out like another OC clone. For the moment, it’s interesting to see a Canadian drama filmed in Whistler. Nicholas Lea plains a different role from his usual, he plays the father of a deceased pro snowboarder.

 

The family tries to cope with the recent death of their prodigal son whilst the brother discovers that the snowboarder was being blackmailed. This is the story of this. I find it annoying how much music is played in these shows, if I wanted to listen to music, I’d listen to the radio not a TV show. It is symptomatic, the slow-motion shots of the family grieving and etc.

 

This is slowly into a murder mystery, with themes reminiscing of Twin Peaks, though nowhere near as complex. Murder, sex and snow. There are quite a few interesting themes developed in this series. Nothing earth shattering, but still intriguing. I am in the 3rd episode right now and it’s still grabbing my attention. I am surprised though that this show is Canadian.

* * * * *

This post is part of a meta-post. You can either go back to the original meta-post or navigate the next section through here.

Previous: Big Brother Australia, UK and USA updates for 31.07.2006

Next: Miami Vice, the movie reviewed

 

 


If you liked this post, share or save it with others using the icons below.

technobubble36.gif digg.png newsvine.png nowpublic.jpg reddit.png netscape.gif tailrank.png yahoomyweb.png delicious.jpg blinkbits.png co.mments.gif stumbleupon.png webride.gif paypal_16x16.gif scoopt.gif rss.png


4 Responses to “Whistler, new summer TV series reviewed”


  1. 1 Ida Wolfe August 2, 2006 at 12:20

    It is wonderful to see Nick Lea as someone more complex than being the “bad” guy. He is playing the father, Ethan MacKay, with a lot of heart.

    I also find the music intrusive and really hope the pace of the episodes gets more active, sometimes the slowness is almost painful.

    I am not a fan of soaps type shows and tuned in on this one to see Nick Lea. Maybe I am naive, but I truly hope some adult character ends up being a “good” person without a shady past or a messed up love life. The kids on this show are all rather whiny, maybe the MacKay son will turn out to be heroic and strong.

  2. 2 range August 2, 2006 at 14:36

    I’ve been a fan of his since the “Once a Thief” shows. He was really good in X-Files. I have to agree with you that the music is quite intrusive and I hope they cut down on those, but this is symptomatic for shows like these.

    I have watched all 5 episodes and I am still intrigued, so we will se how it goes in the next few episodes.

    Welcome to The Memoirs, Ida.

  3. 3 Francine August 2, 2006 at 21:26

    I agree with both of you on the music as being a little annoying. The pacing is rather slow so I walk out on a lot of it, exept when Nick Lea (yeah!) is on. I have no serious complaints about “Whistler” as long as I get to see NIck at least once a week.

  4. 4 range August 2, 2006 at 21:40

    Cheers then,

    It definitely has a tinge of Twin Peaks about it, which I really enjoyed. Last episode cleared up a lot of questions, I wonder what else we will learn.

    Welcome to The Memoirs Francine!


Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,412 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,412 other followers

