Blog Check-In 2006.08.29

Taking a cue for some other bloggers, I have decided to keep daily updates going on The Memoirs. Read on for more!


Taking an example from Lenina, I’ve decided to do daily updates this blog. Most of these will tell of our preparations to leave for Taiwan in the coming weeks. My wife and I have decided to go teach English in Asia, specifically in Taiwan. The reason that we took this decision are plentiful.

For starters, I was supposed to move out to BC in September as soon as I finished up things in Montreal. I was also planning on going back to school, part time at least.

My wife’s sister had being doing this from time to time, she has taught in South Korea and Hong Kong and came back with a lot of positive feedback. We also have another friend living in Taiwan teaching ESL.

We sent out our resumés on the 17th of August and got immediate job offers, within hours of sending out our CVs. We took a few days to choose the most interesting job, and found jobs at the same school.

They are desperate for ESL teachers over there. Also, since we just sold the condo, we were both ready for something different. Life in BC is pretty expensive, especially the housing market. So we both decided to try to save money by teaching abroad.

We chose Taiwan because there are a lot of illegal cram schools in South Korea and the cost of living is too expensive in Hong Kong and Japan. Taiwan seemed like a natural choice.

The cost of living in Taiwan is pretty cheap. Rent is cheap, a few hundred dollars. Living expenses are also pretty cheap. There are a lot of nice gadgets there as well as electronics, and I have always wanted to live in Asia. I’m looking forward to learning new languages. I already speak English, French and German but do not speak any Asian languages. I was hoping to learn Cantonese, but it looks like they speak Taiwanese and Mandarin in Taiwan.

Our school is located in Hsinchu City. Taiwan is about 450 miles from Hong Kong and off the coast of China. From what I can gather, we will be leaving in the 1st or 2nd week of September. I still have a lot of things to get ready before leaving. On top of that, we have a wedding this weekend near Ottawa.

I still have to sell my car, sell some odds and ends at our condo, get the dog’s papers ready, get my own visa ready and a few other things. It is all a bit overwhelming, but in a few weeks, it will be done. I thought I might keep my car, but in discussions with my wife, it looks like we might stay in Asia for the foreseeable future. So there is really no point in keeping a car that I won’t be using. I have already arranged for some storage space in my parent’s house in Quebec City.

On another front, I also plan on keeping detailed notes and videos of all of the things that are going to happen to us in the coming weeks. I will be also doing a documentary on Taiwan within the coming months, once I get everything set up. There will be a lot more vlogs as well, I will be making at least one vlog per week, if not more.

I hope to purchase a DSLR Nikon as well as a HD camcorder when I get there.

* * * * *

Featured Photographers in this post

mar00ned.

3 Responses to “Blog Check-In 2006.08.29”


  1. 1 vanesica August 29, 2006 at 22:24

    Congratulations Range and wife. I look forward to the vlogs from the east.

    I had a couple of friends who moved to New Zealand last year. They had trouble getting papers for their two cats. It was going to take up to a year to process. They left them at one of their parents homes until they get approved to travel. Perhaps this is just a NZ thing, but something worth looking into.

    Teaching English will be so rewarding!

  2. 2 vanesica August 29, 2006 at 22:26

    Oh and nice idea to do a blog check-in ;)

  3. 3 range August 29, 2006 at 22:33

    Yeah, it’s complicated. We just booked everything for ourselves and the dog. We still have to get all the certificates and things before we leave.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

