JoReesisms

 

Near the Nan Men General hospital, our future car (a Suzuku Swift 2006) awaits us! Taken on the 31st of December with a Nikon D200 and a 18-35mm Nikkor lens. Part of The Ghost City Series.

She has been my constant companion for more than 5 years, even more than our beloved Frenchie Spike. We are in our second year of marriage and like all couples, we have developed our own language. In Taiwan, we switch into French when we do not want to be overheard and understood by all the inquiring ears. These are the JoReesisms that I have compiled over the last few days. She says a lot of funny things, so do I in fact, and I find it interesting to see them all here. She has her own blog and her own website BTW.

Active and attractive!

Normally she will say this after having worked out at the gym.

Too bad, so sad!

Something she will say when she does a thing that will make other react.

What’s the plan Stan?

An old saying that she has had. She says it from time to time.

Tough shnookies!

A saying that I actually adapted from Tough Cookies! She says it when something happens and I do not want to do it.

Nice bum where’re you from?

She says it often enough when she sees me.

Rub-a-dub dubby, I love my hubby!

This is a new one that she came up with within recent months. A cute affectionate one.

Cool beans!

When something is cool or goes her way.

Problem solved!

From one of her students who told her about an embarrassing moment. He was stuck in a toilet without any paper and had to used other people’s toilet paper to wipe his ass. [Ed. note: In Taiwan, like most Asian countries, the sewer pipes can not handle toilet paper. So wastepaper baskets are located in each toilet stall to throw them out.]

Happy days!

A Jo Rees original, she has been saying this ever since I have known her.

Cool as a cucumber!

As in don’t you look cool as a cucumber. I don’t know where she gets them all from.

Why not?

Said in a very cute and childlike way when I tell her we can’t do a thing.

Chilly willy!

Jo Rees is always frisky, especially in Taiwan since there is no indoor heating.

Turn that frown upside down!

Said to someone in a bad mood. I have actually said this a lot more to Jo Rees than she has to me.

Put the pedal to the metal!

Rarely heard, but appropriate from time to time.

How do you like that one?

When she says or does something that she is proud of.

Snug as a bug in a rug!

She says this when is nice and snug in her bed or blanket.

Dang it!

A recent Joreesism, she told me that she got this one from Owen Wilson and says it instead of damn.

Same shit different pile!

When talking about jobs.

Now you know, and knowing is half the battle, GI Joe!

Said when we learn something new. Actually, this comes from me and my love of G.I.Joe, an American cartoon.

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

