On Advice And Languages

Another cool building near the Zhongxiao Fuxing MRT station (忠孝復興捷運站). Part of the Down Fuxing North Road Series.

You know how some people are always giving you advice.

Is it wrong or is it right?

I’ve learned with experience to take advice with a grain of salt. Some people just talk out of their asses bums without thinking. Just like kids, some people need constant attention, so it’s best to be wary about perpetual advice givers.

The quality of the advice depends on the person who is giving it.

For example, I would put a lot more credence into advice from my wife than advice from some random stranger.

Sometimes or almost all the time, advice is biased by the person giving it.

If I give advice on certain things, my advice is shaped by my opinions on those things that I personally have.

Each person’s experiences are different.

Though there are some common grounds between people.

Other times, when you are in certain situations, it actually pays off to ask advice. Sometimes, the best way to proceed is to see how others would do.

How to make the difference between good advice and bad advice?

I would just go with your gut feeling.

That’s what I do.

In hindsight, there is a lot of advice that I should have taken from my loved ones. But hindsight vision is always 20/20, mistakes are glaringly obvious. When you make the decisions, they aren’t as black and white as in hindsight.

Coming to teach in Taiwan was one of the best things that I ever did.

I have always loved Asia and I am looking forward to really being able to learn the language.

I actually speak three languages fluently already, understand a fourth and can speak bits and pieces of a fifth. (In order of appearance: English, French, German, Spanish and Malayalam.)

I have started understanding bits of conversations in Mandarin.

Yesterday, I actually read by myself in Chinese. It was just a word, and not an obvious word.

It was 中山 (Zhongshan). I was on the Danshui line (淡水線) going home, and I was reading the MRT stops as I went along. I am unfamiliar with the Danshui line since I take the Bannan line (板南線) almost daily, and rarely go north. I know the word because of 龍山 (Longshan from Longshan Temple).

So I knew part of the word. Since I was coming home from Zhongshan N. Rd. (中山北路), it took me a few seconds to figure out that 中 was actually Zhong.

4 Responses to “On Advice And Languages”


  1. 1 Mark March 29, 2007 at 22:16

    If nothing else, I’m sure that your extensive language learning experiences give you the confidence to know you can learn another.

  2. 2 range March 30, 2007 at 02:06

    Yep, most probably. But I am actually taking it to the next step and enrolling in a program to read, write, speak and type Mandarin in a formal university setting.

  3. 3 Mark March 31, 2007 at 18:06

    That sounds great! That’s actually why I moved up north myself, way back in the day. Where will you be studying?

  4. 4 range March 31, 2007 at 22:19

    NTNU or ShiDa at Guting MRT. I think that the classes I will be taking will be at the Linkou campus, though I am unsure.


Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,412 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,412 other followers

