Some More Books

Yesterday, I had some time to kill, so I went by Page One in the Taipei 101 Mall.

It’s a nice big bookstore.

I was looking for some more books, seeing that I had already finished Red Mars and Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson.

(The review is in the works right now.)

Looking through the shelves, I found The System of the World by Neal Stephenson. It was funny because I found this book in the general fiction section, with Interface and Snow Crash! I might just get myself a copy of Snow Crash, since I only have an e-copy of it.

Another book called Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell grabbed by fancy. It was by Susanna Clarke. It was on special and it was really thick (Page One is having a 30-50% sale on some books). I quickly skimmed it and decided to buy it.

The science-fiction section of Page One is small, but it has some interesting stuff. I looked over the fantasy section as well and almost wanted to buy (again!) the History of Middle-Earth volumes 1 to 10 by Christopher Tolkien. But I decided not to buy any books that I already had. This will be hard, because I do have all of the Alastair Reynolds books but I only brought a few with me. Actually, I was able to pre-order The Prefect (12.04.2007), which is coming out this week. I am not sure if I will have that book this week, but it will give me an excuse to go back to Page One.

A few books by Iain Banks grabbed my attention. I didn’t really know a lot about him. I read a passage in Consider Phlebas and decided that he was worth a try. What really grabbed me were the covers, they were strikingly done in the Orbit paperback editions.

* * * * *

See the book reviews section in the Articles.

* * * * *

Featured Photographer

lunas


subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

