Roc

My last post had a strange title in hindsight, not obvious in its meaning to all readers.

A roc is a giant sized eagle, from mythology.

A roc or rukh (from Persian رخ rokh[1]) is an enormous mythical bird of prey, often white, reputed to have been able to carry off and eat elephants.

I have been fascinated with them for quite a while. This fascination has come up again recently through my writing.

Since the roc is related to an eagle, or actually is a giant-sized eagle, it’s logical to use the term convocation for a troop of rocs, as per the terms of animal collectives and groups. I haven’t been able to find any images that due the giant sized bird justice. The best I could do was the following:

One of my Ars Magica RPG characters took upon the task to train a full sized roc. It was quite arduous and the bird ate a lot of food.

In the world of Dungeons and Dragons, it’s not a dire animal per se. The origin in its myth reside in Persian stories.

2 Responses to “Roc”


  1. 1 Marion November 7, 2008 at 03:26

    Dear Range,
    I found your ROCS and I am really enjoy to see the pictures.
    I do a kind of research about rocs. Do you know if they had any connection to China?
    Would be really nice to hear from you,
    hello from Germany,
    Marion

  2. 2 range November 9, 2008 at 09:08

    I know that eagles are important in Chinese culture, but I haven’t found much information about giant eagles. That’s something you’d need to research further.


Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

