Soul Of My Feet

On Wednesday, during my long run, I must have injured the sole of my left foot. When I went out running again on Thursday, I started feeling it towards the end of the run. When I say injured, I mean sore. The sole of my foot was extremely sore on Friday.

I’ve been massaging it, icing it down, using contrast showers and it’s feeling a lot better. I’ll probably be able to go on a run tomorrow. I could have gone tonight, but I’d risk making it worse, so I’d rather take it easy.

I was hobbling yesterday. Today wasn’t as bad. I’ve resorted to wearing heavy socks to add some more padding underneath my feet. I’m debating whether I should run with my heavy expedition socks. Maybe I’ll just put one sock on.

Contrast showers work great. I’ll have to get a new powerful shower head though. I’ve felt a massive difference using the contrast showers after my runs. The results are so good that I actually do this each time I take a shower. Contrast showers involve putting the shower jet as hot as possible and massaging your body with it. Then you alternate to cold water. You do this a few times. The importance is to use ice cold water and to always end with cold water. If you frequent a gym, in the nice fancy ones they have an ice bath right next to the jacuzzi. We had one of those in our apartment in Hsinchu. The new gym that I will be joining next year when I come back to Taiwan has that as well.

This means that I can go out for a longer run on Sunday. I’ll go for at least 8-10 km. This time, I’ll also push for a lower time.

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

Β© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

