Sunkist Oranges

Oranges

Well, I bought 41 Sunkist oranges at the supermarket today when I learned that they were 6NT$ each (~20 cents). That’s dirt cheap! I might return for some more tomorrow. They usually sell for 25NT$ (~1$) each. (I got them at the Carrefour)

If you’ve read this blog, you know that I just love oranges. One of the things that I didn’t like in Taiwan was that Sunkist oranges are so hard to get here. Well, it’s no longer an issue. I can eat about 10 a day, if not more.

Being on a raw food diet isn’t too bad. I’m not 100% on raw food. I still eat some cooked food, but like Steve Pavlina reporter, your desire to eat cooked food diminishes rapidly. I do eat some ham.

The thing about these low-carb, no-carb, gluten free, raw food diets or lifestyles is that they might take some getting used to. I’ve moved into a raw food diet over a period of months. The transition was easy. I do notice that I do need to eat every few hours, otherwise my energy gets drained. I noticed it yesterday while I was teaching. I had just had 1L of kiwi/pineapple smoothie and 500cc of fresh squeezed OJ. It wasn’t enough. I ate a thin crust pizza at La Pizza.

That’s the thing with diets. Being 100% on them isn’t the best idea. Steve Pavlina did notice some side-effects. I do eat some carbs, but in extremely low quanties. I do not eat any bread, pasta, noodles, cereals, rice, etc.The only dairy I eat is through milk in my tea and the couple of milk/papaya smoothies I drink.

Like some other runners, I might try to incorporate some almond butter or almond paste, as well as nuts and preserves into my daily diet. My wife also suggested some protein drinks.

Tonight, I had some red tuna, served sashimi style. Followed by 3 oranges since I know that I’ll try to run tonight. Excellent!

2 Responses to “Sunkist Oranges”


  1. 1 range July 20, 2008 at 00:28

    Thanks. You should see the fridge. It’s full of oranges. No space for anything else.


  1. 1 Home Squeezed Sunkist Orange Juice « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on July 20, 2008 at 17:23

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

