HP Pavilion Entertainment PC Series

My roommate got a new laptop for his work. I was surprised to find out that he paid about $800. It’s an HP Pavilion Entertainment series, comes with dual core 2.16 processors, 4GB of RAM, 320 GB of HD, and it looks pretty cool. It’s comes with a 15.4 glossy WXGA wide-screen display.

On top of those nice specs, it looks good. It’s got some designs all over its surface, the keyboard has a nice response to it. The lights are all white, and just like Apple computers, the HP logo lights up on its cover. I was really impressed by it. Prices have come down significantly in the last year.

Having learned my lesson with laptops back in 2004, I will never buy a desktop replacement laptop again. That being said, I’m probably going to try a tablet PC next, something like the Lenovo X200 Tablet series or the HP Touchsmart. For some reason, HPs are getting really affordable. A quick check in Taiwan let me know that these fancy new computers can be had for between $1000 and $1500. For some reason, configuring the X200 on Lenovo’s American website led me to an $3,800 MSRP. That’s pretty shitty. The Touchsmart was a whole lot cheaper. One of my caveats would be getting a 64-bit OS and having 8GB of RAM. Other than that, 500GB of internal storage and that’s pretty much it. Factoring this in, it would be a lot cheaper to do this myself, since I don’t think I’ll spend the $800 extra to get 4GB extra and MSW 7 64-bit from the vendor.

Then again, vendors in Taiwan aren’t like vendors in the US. I’ve never paid for having an OS installed on my computers.

0 Responses to “HP Pavilion Entertainment PC Series”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,458 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,458 other followers

