Thai Vietnamese Stand

Chad told me that there was a really good food stand near my house. They serve Thai-Vietnamese food. The only trouble is finding out when it’s open. As usual, stands tend to have strange schedules.

The sisters who operated the stand/restaurant told me that they are open every day, from 3PM to 10PM. I’d come by two days in a row to find their stand all boarded up. It was 3:40PM when I arrived and they weren’t set up yet. They told me that I’d have to wait 20 minutes. I thought about this for a few seconds. I’d been trying to get food from them for this whole week. I also had a good book in my backpack, so I just pulled it out and read. The girls made me a complimentary French bun, kind of Vietnamese, filled with spicy meat and veggies for waiting so long. I was at the stand for about 40 minutes. It was delicious. It hovered on the verge of being too spicy, but wasn’t spicy enough to make me stop eating it. I told them that it was great.

I ordered a chicken/papaya salad. It turns out that they made me a chicken/papaya salad and a papaya salad. These salads are typically Thai. They don’t use ripe papayas, but green ones. I didn’t really mind. It was once again excellent food. In fact, I’m going to go back there tomorrow and the day after until I get tired of it. It’s just so tasty. And the spicyness. The spicyness of the salad was exquisite. It was dosed in finely cut red chilies. You never knew what you were going to get and when you got some, they were spicy, but not too spicy.

I ate the salad in two sittings. It would have been too much for just one meal. I’m pretty happy to have this nice eatery a few minutes away from home. Obviously, there are other places, but they tend to be noodle and BBQ stands.

Update: I know remember why I don’t eat that many spicy foods. They hurt on the way out. Still, it was pretty good. I went back for some French buns filled with meat and veggies today. I have been told that this is Vietnamese, not Thai.

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,412 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,412 other followers

