Polaroid Is Back!

It looks like Polaroid instant film and cameras are coming back! Polaroid film was discontinued last year. This created quite the uproar. For many people, Polaroid film was reminiscent of a simpler form of instant photography. Polaroid film and cameras will return midway in 2010.

Heck, this makes me want to get a Polaroid camera! There are some really cool Polaroid photo projects. What’s really great with Polaroids is it’s instant! You can get the photos right away. Almost like a precursor of what it would be to have digital photography. Speaking of which, the new Nikon D3S was announced. It costs $5,200 and can do up to 102,400 ISO. Sounds incredible. Personally, I’m fine with my D200. I’ll upgrade in 2010 or 2011 and keep the D200 as a backup camera. (via pica+pixel)

24 Responses to “Polaroid Is Back!”


  1. 1 bonjovax October 14, 2009 at 21:28

    Yepee!! Sounds like natural Polarchrome effects is back..

  2. 2 Steven Harris October 14, 2009 at 21:31

    Polaroid stuff ‘feels’ different from anything else. I know this is a strange thing to say about an inanimate medium but I am sure plenty of others will agree with me.
    http://doctorbeatnik.wordpress.com/

  3. 4 range October 14, 2009 at 21:40

    I know. I remember when I had one when I was a kid. It was loads of fun. There is something very warm about the colors that come out of those Polaroid shots.

  4. 7 Courtney October 14, 2009 at 21:49

    Where did you hear it was coming back? Do you have a link to news or purchasing site? I’m curious to know if the film will fit the Polaroid cameras that were recently discontinued. I was disappointed to find out that Fujifilm, who was going to start up the instant film production in Polaroid’s absence, decided to release their own version of the instant camera and film, which meant that my old Polaroid would still be obsolete. This post has given me hope!

  5. 8 Pretty Project October 14, 2009 at 22:22

    I used to have one of these when I was younger. I will HAVE to get one again! :)

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  6. 9 range October 14, 2009 at 23:12

    Hi Courtney. Full details are available here.

  7. 10 kittyjane October 15, 2009 at 01:05

    It was a really bad time for them to discountine the Polaroid, seeing as the style is really coming back. Just the look of Polaroids are so funky, they would have hit it big…and will now that they’ve brought it back. Yay!!

  8. 11 Kvåle October 15, 2009 at 04:15

    yay! i love polaroid pictures!!

  9. 12 Flower Boy October 15, 2009 at 04:27

    And each one is unique. Taking them is so much fun! :)

  10. 13 Chuck LoCascio October 15, 2009 at 05:05

    man,i haven’t taken a polaroid picture in years,its a great idea to bring them back!

    http://redlinemg.net/blog

  11. 14 uphyboi October 15, 2009 at 05:28

    im so excited for this!!!! and also nice blog mister!!! :-)

    http://www.uphyboi.wordpress.com

  12. 15 Kop October 15, 2009 at 05:28

    Think how sad it would have been to listen to Ooutcast “Hey Ya” in 10 years and have to explain to a child, “Well there used to be this camera….”

    Shake it like a polaroid picture!

    http://futurefashionnow.wordpress.com/

  13. 16 Digital Dame October 15, 2009 at 05:49

    I’m so excited! Yay! I still have my old camera (not sure of the model, but it’s blue) but no film :(

  14. 17 adiblogger October 15, 2009 at 06:01

    that would be a nice addon to my Lomo!
    thanks for sharing

  15. 18 theasley October 15, 2009 at 07:18

    I hope they make some product design adjustments, though.

  16. 19 Maly October 15, 2009 at 07:42

    Ahh, this is amazing. I’m so stoked. I’m gonna go out and stock up on polaroid film now!

  17. 20 msbutterton October 15, 2009 at 07:45

    just saw you on the WP home page – great blog – I was so happy to learn this! I love my Polaroids – I stocked up on film when it was announced they would be discontinued – I still use mine for parties and traveling – this new model looks snazzy tho – I may have to purchase!

    I’ll be back :)

    Cheers, Sandy

  18. 21 Thoth Harris October 15, 2009 at 08:04

    11 comments! Wow!
    Yeah, this is awesome news. There have been some rare, genius photographers who have worked with Polaroid. I know one in Montreal, who founded the magazine Tokyo Journal back in the early 1980s.

  19. 22 range October 15, 2009 at 10:39

    Thanks for the responses!

  20. 23 gwbankowned October 15, 2009 at 14:19

    Polaroid Cameras bring back so many memories, im going to have to pick one up again!

    http://gwbankowned.com


  1. 1 The Memoirs Made the WP.com Front Page « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on October 15, 2009 at 00:05

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

