Achieved Inbox Zero This Week

A screenshot from my desktop and Gmail inbox

It took me a while, probably a few months, but I finally managed to achieve Inbox Zero.

The trick is to still keep all of your emails, treat your inbox as a to-do list, and archive those emails that you have already addressed. I find that this system works very well, even if I do get between 10-30 emails a day. Things would rapidly spiral out of control. I create virtual folders using labels. Using punctuation marks or symbols like @ enables the folders to appear first.

I also create rules to automatically label incoming emails from senders who email me frequently. While I do not auto-archive them, I do archive them quickly enough.

Unlike some other adopters of Inbox Zero, I do not use the Gmail notifier app nor do I use GTalk. I find those disruptive and it’s a lot better to check your emails a few times a day, at set times. I check my email about 3-5 times a day, no more.

The other thing that I’ve done is cutting down on social networking. I do use Twitter, but other than that, except blogging, I don’t do anything else. I find it pointless and time consuming.

Facebook is a prime example. I have loads of acquaintances that are my friends on FB. The trouble is that I honestly don’t want to know about everyone all of the time. Creating fake connections is also something that I do not like or enjoy.

I keep contact with the people I like through emails. I’ve stopped publishing content on FB for a while now. I’ve thought about deleting everything, but decided not to. I won’t be closing my FB account either. It still has some uses.

0 Responses to “Achieved Inbox Zero This Week”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

