Books of November & December 2009

Romanian version of Kafka on the Shore

Since I started reading again, voraciously, I decided that it was time to finish publishing my complete list of books that I read in 2009. In total, I’ve read 63 books in 2009. For 2010, I’ve only read 5 books, most of them in April and May. At the same time last year, I had read about 25. I think that I’ll continue keeping a list. As long as I read 52 books in 2010, I’ll be happy. I tend to read in spurts. Sometimes, I need a break.

If you must know, I read House of Suns again a few weeks ago. It’s definitely one of my favorite books. I want to read Ilium and Olympos by Dan Simmons again. I also need to stock up on books. One of the reasons why I haven’t read that many books this year is because I haven’t bought any new ones since last year. I’ll go to the library on the weekend to pick up a few nice reads.

November and Decemberreading

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami
Diary by Chuck Palahniuk
Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

September and October reading

The Time Travelers by Linda Buckley Archer
The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
(Pandora’s Star by Peter F. Hamilton)⁵
(Judas Unchained by Peter F. Hamilton)⁵

August reading

The Temporal Void by Peter F. Hamilton
(The Reality Dysfunction by Peter F. Hamilton)⁴
(The Neutronium Alchemist by Peter F. Hamilton)⁴
(The Naked God by Peter F. Hamilton)⁴

June and July reading

The Prefect by Alastair Reynolds
Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi
(House of Suns by Alastair Reynolds
(The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell)²
(Children of God by Mary Doria Russell)²
Anathem by Neal Stephenson³
A Far Horizon by Meira Chand
Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam
Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris

May reading

Pygmy by Chuck Palahniuk
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Crow Lake by Mary Lawson
The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett
The Romantics by Pankaj Mishra
Cover her Face by PD James
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
House of Suns by Alastair Reynolds
Dieu porte-t-il des lunettes noires? by Maurice Dantec
Solomon Gursky Was Here by Mordecai Richler
The Glass Harp by Truman Capote
Howard’s End by E.M. Forster
A Room with a View by E.M. Forster
Where Angels Fear to Tread by E.M Forster
The Snake Charmer by Sanjay Nigam

April reading

The Lighthouse by P.D. James
The Plot Against America by Philip Roth
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
Les hommes qui n’aimaient pas les femmes by Steig Larsson
La fille qui rêvait d’un bidon d’essence et d’une allumette by Steig Larsson
La reine dans le palais des courants d’air by Steig Larsson

March reading

Eragon by Christopher Paolini
Brick Lane by Monica Ali
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
Cosmos Incorporated by Maurice Dantec

February reading

Seven Silent Men by Noel Behn
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
The Human Stain by Philip Roth
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold [due to become a Peter Jackson movie]

January reading

Final Account by Peter Robinson
The Climb
by Anatoli Boukreev and G. Weston DeWalt
Samarcande by Amin Maalouf
Devil’s Claw by J.A. Jance
Pilgrim
by Timothy Findley
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
The Poe Shadow by Matthew Pearl
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
The High Window by Raymond Chandler
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski

* * * * *

book count: 61

[¹]: I read this book again. It’s fabulous.
[²]: I read these books a few years ago. My mom really liked them, I didn’t. At least that what she tried to tell me before I borrowed them again. I’m going to write a post about what bugged me about them.
[³]: Reading this book was an incredible experience. I had to leave it with my parents in Quebec. It was too heavy to take with me. Luckily my mother-in-law sent me another copy of this book to Taiwan. I can read it again. This book deserves to be read a few times.
[⁴]: I read these three books again in the month of August. Since they were quite long, it took most of the month to get through the trilogy.
[⁵]: As I mentioned before, I just had to read these books again. The Temporal Void just made me want to read them again.
[⁶]: This wasn’t a very good book. It’s a book for young adults and I didn’t really like it that much. Some parts were good, but others were bad.

0 Responses to “Books of November & December 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,459 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,459 other followers

