6.03 KM (1.89 KM Speed Walk) + Short Run (4.14 KM)

I was somewhat tired during the day because I had gotten just about 4 hours of sleep last night. A power nap and an espresso sorted me out for the rest of the day. When it came down to run, I decided that I needed to run a bit longer and further than previously, which I did.

Throughout this run, after I passed the 3km mark, I kept repeating that “pain was an illusion” and “abstraction” to distance myself from some of the muscle pains that I was feeling. Initially, I felt pretty good. Good enough that I didn’t many breaks. I took only two and they were short, walking breaks, with my arms up to prevent stitches. For the 4.14km run, my pace was 7:14, which is the best since I started training. My guess is that this is normal, since I’ve almost cut out all of the breaks, which slow down my pace. Heart rate was 157 bpm, with a max of 179 bpm. It took me 29:53 to run 4.14km.

It’s funny how my heart rate chart is straightening out. Before, it was all jagged lines, now it’s  slowly becoming a constant line. There are still some peaks, but they are less abrupt. Basically, I went out for the same amount of time as Tuesday, but covered an extra kilometer in that time. I don’t want to walk Spike more than 2km per night. He can’t handle it and that’s fine to warm me up, but it takes away a bit of my run. This is the best that I’ve run all year, although I haven’t run much in 2011. In fact, it beats most of my average paces for 2010, ever since I got the Garmin Edge 500. I think I have to go back to 2009 to find a pace that is at this level. My fastest pace was about 5 min/km and I was at that level in November 2008 on an 8km run in Quebec. I found a 13.8km training run that I did in 69:49, which is a pace of 4.55 min /km.

I still have a way to go to regain my fitness level of 2008, but I also need to be careful with injuries. That’s what got me off running in November of that year.

* * * * *

Running

weekly km count: 15.74
monthly km count: 30.49
yearly km count: 52.59

Cycling

weekly km count: 0
monthly km count: 0
yearly km count: 19.88

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,454 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

