5.85 KM (1.76 KM Speed Walk) + Short Run (4.09 KM)

I didn’t really feel it last night, so I just went for a 2.5km speed walk with Spike and then turned in. Tonight, I didn’t feel it either, but I still went out to run. My pace is somewhat disappointing, at 8:02 min/km, down from 7:14 min/km from last week, but ultimately, I just was happy that I was able to finish the run. I knew I was slower than before, but I noticed that my right knee was aching slightly.

Maybe it’s the fact that I didn’t get much sleep over the weekend (I went out on Friday and Saturday) and haven’t recovered. I spent Saturday night dancing for at least 2 hours, so that counts for some cardio. I also weighed myself last Friday and was surprised to see that I clocked in at 82kg, which is down 13kg since I started training again. That’s about 29 lbs. No wonder my boss and other people around me have been commenting on my weight loss. I honestly didn’t feel much different, but sure enough, I noticed that some of my clothes have started to loosen up.

I want to get to my optimal weight of around 75kg, so I still have a while to go. I basically lost a lot of the fat that I just carried around from eating unhealthy and not working out. I ran for 33:24 and my heart rate peaked at 173 bpm. For the run, my heart rate was 160 bpm, so it was a good workout. I wanted to crank up the mileage, but I think it’s best to take things slower than last time, and not get any injuries that would take me off running again.

Food-wise, I’ve been good, except for NYE where I had some fast food. I eat less than before, that’s something I notice. I tend to start my days with some fresh-squeezed OJ, some yogurts and fruits. I’ve managed to resist some junk food cravings. Most of the time, I don’t get any. I don’t buy much from convenience stores anymore, except drinks, excluding soda of course.

I tend to drink Energy In energy jelly, Dr. Tea milk tea, or Bernachon iced coffee. When I had a chocolate bar last week, I found it too sweet and felt a bit sick after. I find that in order to consume enough fruits per day, the best way to do this is to simply drink juices or smoothies. I’m a bit off smoothies since I had them a lot over the last few months, especially banana smoothies. Right now, I drink a lot of fresh-squeezed citrus juices. I find that they sate me well. I also have more soups, with a bit of noodles.

Probably when the next semester starts, around February 20th, I’ll be lean and thin again. This also means that I’ll be able to wear a lot of clothes that I had brought over during the summer from storage.

The weight loss was attained with around 15km per week of running. That isn’t much and basically anyone can set their mind to this. If you train 3 to 4 times a week, you’ll have plenty of rest days. Since I have to walk the dog every day, I simply matched that up with a run right after. I get into my gear and speed walk Spike around the park a few times. When I get back, I just dump him and grab a prepared bottle of water and go.

I’ve heard some people say that their doctors don’t recommend running and that they should lose weight first. There are many ways to do low-impact cardio training to get fitter, but I’ve honestly found that none of them match the intensity of running. Probably swimming, but I’ve never really had the luxury of having a swimming pool next door. It’s always been a process to find one. I might do so, since NTNU probably has some nice training facilities.

* * * * *

Running

weekly km count: 5.85
monthly km count: 5.85
yearly km count: 5.85

 

Cycling

weekly km count: 0
monthly km count: 0
yearly km count: 19.88

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

