Mother Of Tears Review

If you have read some of my previous posts, you’ll know that I am a fan of Dario Argento. I finally managed to watch the last movie in the Three Mothers series, Mother of Tears (La Terza Madre, The Third Mother). That last post dates from mid October 07. I just never posted it for some reason.

I was happy to find out that Dario Argento was working on the last installment of the series. I still believe that Suspiria is by far his best work. Mother of Tears is almost more of a giallo movie than a supernatural one.

Mother of Tears is drastically different from Suspiria and Tenebrae, containing more gore and nudity than any other Argento movie I can remember. Parts of it are very effective. The witches portrayed are typically typecasted. Strange women, in fashionable clothes and wearing a lot of make-up running around and making lots of noise.

Most disappointing was Mater Lachrymarum. Did you think that Mater Lachrymarum had fake tits and pranced around naked all the time? No? Well she does in this movie. When her character is first introduced, it’s interesting. The dress she wears is haunting, her scarlet lips that are visible under her hood enhance her evil.

However this is lost when she starts delivering her lines in a really annoying voice and American accent. It just doesn’t work. The last straw is her fake rack. No doubt the Israeli actress and presenter Morian Atias is very proud about them, but I don’t understand why the character would have them. It just doesn’t make sense.

Argento should have used another voice. Hers doesn’t work at all. There are some really good scenes with her. I remember the one where her agent kills Marta. Before she expires, we can see Mater Lachrymarum lick her tears. That was a disturbing scene.

Asia Argento (Sarah Mandy) looks run down and in bad shape in this movie. No amount of make-up can conceal this fact. She kind of reminds me of Brittany Murphy. I don’t know what happened. Maybe this was done on purpose, but I seem to remember that she was hot. She doesn’t really look hot in this one. Check out her website, she does have good pics on it.

The last really disappointing fact is that Daria Nicolodi, Asia’s mom in real life, plays Elisa Mandy, Sarah’s mom. She appears like a stupid looking CGI spirit during most of the movie. It looks really bad. It looks like some animation out of a video game. She has the most annoying voice as well.

I did like the chaos that was rampant in Rome. Some strange urns were discovered in the beginning of the movie. Once they were taken from hallowed ground, the agents of Mater Lachrymarum came for them. With these, Mater Lachrymarum was back to full power. Chaos ensues. Black witches from all over the world congregate to Rome to celebrate her return. Some of the witches were interesting. The Japanese one that chases Mandy was well done.

There are naturally gratuitous nudity scenes, including one where Dario Argento pans the camera over the naked body of his daughter Asia in the shower. That’s somewhat disturbing, but not in the sens that you’d like. Some lesbians get killed, because being a lesbian is bad (!). It’s not the goriest movie I’ve seen. I’ve seen plenty worse. It’s not that scary really, I watched it at 1AM in my bed. I wouldn’t watch Suspira or Audition that way.

Some of the scenes sought to portray hell on earth, but I find that the ones from Event Horizon or Hellraiser were a lot better and scarier. There was one where I was reminded of the Cenobites.

This movie is a bit of a disappointment for any Argento fan. Suspiria remains in my opinion by far the best movie that Argento ever made. All in all, the only reason I’d watch it is to see what actually happens in the last installment of the Three Mothers.

* * * * *

Relevant Posts

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

