25 KM Dusk Bike Ride

Cockpit view of my Velocite Millennium

Today, I went for a bike ride. It was definitely fun and a change of pace from what I’m used to. Sunday is probably the worst day to go on the bike paths, but all in all, it was fun and we had a great time.

We just did the usual route: from Banciao to Yonghe, and then into Taipei by the Sioulang Bridge. Then, along the Zhonzheng Riverside park until the Huajhong bridge. Last year, I was doing this route in about 37 minutes. Today, it was more about fun and having a good time then training. I did do some bouts of hard acceleration, but overall, it was done at a leisurely pace.

It’s probably a great idea to ride with a girl to start training again. It’s definitely put me back into the training mood. I want to go back on a bike ride tomorrow, then maybe  a run at dusk. The trick is to not accumulate too much mileage too quickly.

I have been gaining a bit of weight since I stopped training. Luckily, I’ve already lost some since last week, since I started on the low/no carb diet again. For the record, I weigh 87 kg now.

Next Saturday, I want to ride with her to Beitou. Danshui is also easy to reach. I also noticed that I need to get my derailleur adjusted again. The last time I tried doing it myself, I didn’t do a good job of it. You need to have a feathery touch to get it into the sweet spot.

The ride overall was a bit slow for my taste, but I just couldn’t leave my wife behind. There was lots of traffic, which was really annoying at times, but I had gotten used to it. The Wanban Riverside Park is pretty developed compared to the last time I saw it. It’s completely finished, with play areas, rest areas and more. It’s definitely worth seeing since it all brand new, unlike the Taipei side. I find that the best time to ride is at dusk.

* * * * *

Running

weekly km count: 0
monthly km count: 0
yearly km count: 0

Cycling

weekly km count: 25
monthly km count: 25
yearly km count: 50

0 Responses to “25 KM Dusk Bike Ride”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,691 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


