2012 In Books

Well, I’m about 3 months late, but rest assured, I still keep tabs on what I read. I’ve had my ups and downs last year, voraciously reading on my iPad for months on end, then falling into TV series for weeks before returning to books once again. In 2011, I read 85 books. I didn’t manage to read 100 in 2012, but I’ll try once again this year. Although, I’m onto a slow start. However, things are picking up again, and I hope to have at least 20-40 books read by midyear.

The Instructions by Adam Levin
The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
The Island of the Day Before by Umberto Eco
Armageddon in Retrospect by Kurt Vonnegut
Nazi Literature in the Americas by Roberto Bolano: Bolano isn’t easy to find in ebooks. I’ve had to special order most of this books.
The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco
Tell All by Chuck Palahniuk
Children of the Mind by Orson Scott Card
Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
Market Forces by Richard K. Morgan
Black Man by Richard K. Morgan
The Steel Remains by Richard K. Morgan
The Cold Commands by Richard K. Morgan
Blue Remembered Earth by Alastair Reynolds: Naturally, I was hotly anticipating this book, since I’m a bit fan of Reynolds. This book was a lot better than Terminal, but still I preferred Revelation Space.
Faceless Killers by Henning Mankell: I finally started reading all of the Henning Mankell books. It’s because I love Wallander.
The Dogs of Riga by Henning Mankell
The Man Who Smiled by Henning Mankell
Sidetracked by Henning Mankell
The Fifth Woman by Henning Mankell
Firewall by Henning Mankell
Pyramid by Henning Mankell
The Troubled Man by Henning Mankell
Before the Frost by Henning Mankell
The Man from Beijing by Henning Mankell
Italian Shoes by Henning Mankell: Some of the non-Wallander books aren’t as good.
The White Lioness by Henning Mankell
The Eye of the Leopard by Henning Mankell
Solaris Rising anthology
Depths by Henning Mankell
Demolished Man by Alfred Bester
The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester
The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut
Dirk Gentley’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams
Dirk Gentley’s The TeaTime of the Soul by Douglas Adams
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: I finally bowed to the hype and read the books before watching the movie. It didn’t take me long, and the books weren’t bad, but they did copy quite a bit from Battle Royale.
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
The Strain by by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan
The Fall by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan
The Night Eternal by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan: Someone recommended these and I have to say that I was impressed. I was totally hooked by these books.
The Burning Skies by Caris Roane
Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris: Another Sookie Stackhouse book, which I devoured.
The Marriage Plot by Jeffery Eugenides: I finally started reading the other Eugenides books.
Redshirts by John Scalzi: It was interesting, but I’d prefer Scalzi to write about the Old Man’s War universe again.
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson

book count: 45

0 Responses to “2012 In Books”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,679 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


