2014 in Books

2013 in books was lost due to a HD malfunction, but I have been recording the books that I read on my other computer. I had my ups and downs in reading, and I did spend time rereading books that I had already read before. I was able to find most of Roberto Bolano’s novels in epub format, which is simply great. The Peripheral was definitely a great read from William Gibson.

I spent the last part of the year rereading Peter F. Hamilton’s Commonwealth books, from the Commonwealth saga to the Void Trilogy. This happened only a few months after I had finished the The Abyss Beyond Dreams, which I also reread as my first book of 2015. The Rifters trilogy from Peter Watts was also a rediscovery, as I had read Starfish before, but didn’t get hooked. The first two novels helped set the setting and it was a very good read.

I managed to read 34 books this year, which is down from previous years, but I did spend some weeks not reading. It doesn’t help that I tend to read very long books. I’m hoping to beat my record of 85 books from 2011 this year.

Colors in Space – Marion Bradley
The Prefect – Alastair Reynolds
Thousandth Night – Alastair Reynolds
House of Suns -Alastair Reynolds
The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
Transition – Iain M. Banks
Cyberblood – Johnathan Armsbary
Burning Chrome – William Gibson
Mona Lisa Overdrive – William Gibson
Count Zero – William Gibson
Chasm City – Alastair Reynolds
Doctor Who – Harvester of Time Alastair Reynolds
Children of Men – PD James
The Pilgrimage of the Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki – Haruki Murakami
MaddAddam – Adrienne Clarkson
A Game of Thrones – George RR Martin
A Clash of Kings -George RR Martin
A Storm of Swords – George RR Martin
A Feast for Crows – George RR Martin
A Dance with Dragons – George RR Martin
Lock In – John Scalzi
The Abyss Beyond Dreams – Peter F Hamilton
Blindsight – Peter Watts
Echopraxia – Peter Watts
Starfish – Peter Watts
The Peripheral – William Gibson
Maelstrom – Peter Watts
Behemoth – Peter Watts
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
Pandora’s Star – Peter F. Hamilton
Judas Unchained – Peter F. Hamilton
The Dreaming Void – Peter F. Hamilton
The Temporal Void – Peter F. Hamilton
The Evolutionary Void – Peter F. Hamilton

book count: 34

0 Responses to “2014 in Books”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,679 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


