4 Months In Training

gym-working-out

After the first 1.5 months of training, I started adding elliptical trainer workouts to add more miles. The elliptical is really good for me because it doesn’t stress the joints at all. My knees get sore after running, especially the back. It was part of a process in order to get a lot fitter.

I ran for 30-40 minutes. Then I did the elliptical for one hour. After 3 months, I noticed that I wasn’t going to the gym enough. I averaged 2-4 times a week, but in my mind, it wasn’t enough. I needed to go at least 5 times to the gym every week, if not 6. I also started using the weight machines. I did a core workout 3 times a week, leg day, and an upper body workout once a week. I do the core workout most of the time. It takes about one hour to complete the circuit two times.

I started doing way too many reps, and the reps themselves weren’t challenging enough. So I reduced the amount of reps and added 30% weight. Then I worked my way back up to 15 reps. Now, I make sure that I’m doing the exercises slowly, to get the most out of them. I used Jefit to track my workouts. It makes it easy to know where your were in the previous workout and where to go next.

My workouts still include a lot of cardio. I don’t plan on changing them. However, I’m able to run 10km 2-3 times a week, and 6-8km the rest of the days. I try to go for a long run on Saturdays or Sundays, which is at least 20% more than usual. I use the elliptical now to cool down. This week, I have started using the elliptical backwards. I read that this could help with knee soreness.

0 Responses to “4 Months In Training”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

subscribe to feed

About

ranjitwithkinginbehand.jpgI'm Range, your host. On the menu, photos, art, stories, entertainment and reviews. Links, maths, education and social issues. I'm in Quebec (Canada) or Taiwan (R.O.C.). Follow me on Twitter.

click to subscribe to The Memoirs & receive updates by email.

Join 1,679 other followers

@djrange: my tweets

channels

archives

del.icio.us

translate the memoirs

copyright notice & disclaimer

Please view the full disclaimer and copyright notice here
free web tracker

© 2006-2012 Range all rights reserved


