Thailand Chronicles 13: Liveblogging Or Sort Of From Airports

Our arrival to Suvarnabhumi airport in Bangkok was captured by a Nikon D200 and a 18-200mm VR lens. Part of the Thailand Chronicles Series.

To my surprise, we got to the airport without breaking the bank. At 125BHT per person, it was cheap compared with the 600BHT quotes we got earlier in the day. It involved taking a Săwngthăew to the bus station in Phuket, then taking a bus direct to the airport.

When I arrived, there was a little apprehension until we figured out that we had already paid the surcharge that every passenger has to pay when they leave Bangkok. Now, I am sitting in an odd position. I just noticed a few days ago that I picked up a virus on my CF card when I used an internet cafe a few days ago.

A picture I took while taking off from Hong Kong airport on the 15th of February 2007. Taken with a Nikon D200 and a 18-200mm VR lens.

Typical.

I am just running a antivirus program to get rid of it.

One of my favorite shots of that day, the arrival at Suvarnabhumi airport.

Also, I am transferring the last few pictures from the 8GB CF card to my laptop.

To my surprise, I was able to find a good free WiFi connection at the airport in Phuket. I was sure that all of the connections would be paid only, but I am pleasantly surprised. I have been using it for the last hour and it is pretty fast. I found a few others that where only for paying customers, but this one works great.

A nice way to kill the time when you have a few hours to kill at an airport. The Phuket airport is just like any small town airport. Nothing special.

Right now, I am sitting on one of the carts that you use to ferry around your baggage. I have my laptop in front of me and I am sitting on it. At the same time, I am recharging the batteries of my iPod and my laptop. My laptop is a desktop replacement unit and can not function long without a charge. About 50 minutes I think, but I rarely test it out.

Desktop replacement is great when you are near a power socket.

Right now, I have changed locations and have arrived in Suvarnabhumi airport once more. The pictures aren’t from today, but from last week, when we arrived here for the 1st time. If you want to know, Suvarnabhumi is actually pronounced Su-wan-a-poom and literally means Land of Gold. A bold statement for this airport, which has run into some problems of late.

Abstract photo of the new Suvarnabhumi airport in Bangkok.

My guess is that they tried too hard to compete with Kuala Lumpur’s new international airport and Hong Kong’s airport. And, some corruption was mixed into that. Right now I am sitting in it and I love the design. It makes me feel like I am in a giant loft, with steel and concrete all around me and beautiful lighting.

The bad points?

Well if the runways are falling apart, that is bad, but what really bugs me is finding a suitable place to plug my laptop in. Since I had already been here, I knew basically where I could plug in, but it was still a hassle. If you really want to know, go up to the Sky Casual Dining restaurant, that is operated by the airport authority. They have plugs all over the place. Buy a bottle of water and sit down for a few hours and take advantage of the free WiFi internet that is all over the airport.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment