Thought Police

The fiber optic lights at this waterfall feature at the Lakeshore hotel in Hsinchu Taiwan give this photo a great feel. Taken with a Nikon D200 and a Nikkor 18-35mm lens on the 19th of December 2006. Part of the Lakeshore Series 3.

One of the ways I try to order my thought process is to monitor and influence what I am thinking about. I know that in my life there are certain subjects that need to be thought of. However, when you can not change the situation, it is not sane to continually go over them and try to find new scenarios. I find that when this happens, I try to influence what I am thinking about to change it back toward the positive. Maybe this is why I am so relaxed most of the time and easy-going.

Most of the time, when something upsets me, I try to address it right away, but it happens that it lingers. I know that emotion interferes with the logic of my thoughts. When you get upset, it has to do with emotion. Most of the time, I let it pass and address it later. That does not mean that I keep it inside for it to fester. But strong emotion can be very dangerous and should be watched, because you never know what you will say in the heat of the moment.

Words are just words, but when said aloud, and meant in anger, they have a tendency of stinging. A lot of people have adequate walls on their psyche rendering them immune or stronger to insults and words of hate. It all dependents on your tolerance and thickness of your skin. Words sting especially if they are from a loved one, that is why our mothers taught us to think before you speak.

Sticks and stones will break my bones but words will not hurt me.

One of the ways I found to order my thoughts is to watch something relaxing. It might seem stupide, but when the audio-visual senses are fully engaged in an interesting plot, your problems seem to take a back seat.

For other people, going to the gym or spa has a similar effect.

The pen is mightier than the sword.

Negative emotions can make you stronger but they pollute your mind. It is funny that this reminds me of the light and Dark Side of the Force of the Jedi. Anger leads to hate, hate leads to jealousy. When I know I can not change anything about my problems, I do not dwell on them. I try to find things that will make me happy and work with them.

Things I really enjoy are photography, reading, writing, art, blogging.

I have always said work on your strenghts before working on your weaknesses. If you are a good writer, but a poor speaker, work on you writing. Your speaking will improve in time. Focus on the positive, never on the negative because most of the time, you can not change the negative.

I used to think very long term, but I have recently changed that view; I try to concentrate on the here and now. I still think about the future, but not as much. Sure I would like to be a millionaire, but right now, I am living in the present and I would rather think about what is happening to me at this instant than dwell on the Ferrari I could buy when I am 40 or 50.

* * * * *

Featured Photographers

me!, me on flickr.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

4 responses to “Thought Police”

  1. Sandra Avatar

    I used to think very long term, but I have recently changed that view; I try to concentrate on the here and now. I still think about the future, but not as much. Sure I would like to be a millionaire, but right now, I am living in the present and I would rather think about what is happening to me at this instant than dwell on the Ferrari I could by when I am 40 or 50.

    Thank you for that! I’m thinking you’re from across the world but no matter, because the globally people have all become transfixed with the temporal ideals one “ought” to have. I have been pressed to think so far ahead it’s ridiculous sometimes. Everything changes – look just how different the world is now from half a decade ago, but in the end we’re all still alive, still trying to hold out and survive in this race…

    Planning’s all fine and dandy, but life never goes smoothly.

  2. range Avatar

    Hey Sandra, and welcome to The Memoirs.

    Thanks for your comment! Yep, I just moved to Taiwan from Montreal, Quebec Canada and am in the midst of personal changes. Long term planning is good, but too long term can just distract from life.

  3. Thought Police Part II « memoirs on a rainy day Avatar

    […] This is a follow-up post to this post: Thought Police […]

Leave a comment