In Treatment Week 9 Gina Friday 4PM S01E43 (HBO)

In Treatment will last a total of 43 episodes. In Treatment is based on the Israeli series Betipul. Gabriel Byrne plays Paul Weston, a psychologist trying to deal with his patients while going through some personal problems. Each show focuses on a different patient. Mondays feature Laura, an anesthesiologist infatuated with Paul. Tuesdays feature Alex, an ex-fighter pilot traumatized by events that happened a few years ago. Wednesdays feature Sophie, a suicidal teenage gymnast with Olympic aspirations. Thursdays feature Jake and Amy, a couple in couple’s counseling. Fridays feature Gina, Paul’s own therapist and mentor that he stopped seeing 8 years ago for some reason.

I’ve always loved psychology. This show really feeds that need. The sessions are almost verbatim of what would happen in a real session. This show is about characters, not actions. It’s a very smart show and I am also very surprised that Marky Mark is the executive producer. Marky Mark has had success with Entourage so it makes sense that he decided to try out other projects.

This is a great show. I really liked it. I find that it’s best to watch it a few episodes at a time. I recommend this show. I like watching it in batches. Since the show only lasts between 21 and 29 minutes, this is easy to do. My favorite sessions are with Sophie. Jake and Amy’s sessions are harder to watch, since most married couples have gone through problems at some point in their lives. But they are enlightening.

In this session Sophie has a surprising visit from her dad during therapy. She takes the opportunity to show him how she feels. It’s a groundbreaking session, even though Paul would have liked to prepare more for it, Sophie is mature enough to deal with it right now. Her dad is like a kid.

Warning: Spoilers ahead.

* * * * *

Paul has been trying to reach Laura this week. She’s not answering his calls. She’s listening to the message. She was hurt by something he did. She answers her phone. She says that she is fine. He wants to see her. He wants to talk. Laura agrees. She wants him to come to her house.

He looks in on Kate sleeping. He tells her that he’s going to see Laura.

Paul arrives at Laura’s house. She’s waiting for him. She’s got a great house. It’s quite a romantic setting. Soft romantic music is playing in the background. While Paul is waiting for a glass of water, his cell phone vibrates. It’s his daughter Rosie. He doesn’t answer.

Laura doesn’t know what she is to him. She’s not his patient, nor his lover, nor his girlfriend. Paul says let’s find out. He knows what he wants. He tells her that he loves her. She has trouble believing him. She wants to know what changed. He doesn’t want to get over her. She wants to know what will happen if they just don’t talk. She tells him that he doesn’t really want this.

She’s become Paul’s therapist. He keeps insisting that he wants this. She’s given him ample times to get away. She gets up and walks away. Paul goes looking for her. She’s sitting on her bed. She’s disrobing.

The scene cuts. We see Paul knocking on Gina’s patio door. He tells her what just happened. He says that he couldn’t do anything. He had an anxiety attack. Laura told him that she didn’t want him anymore. He couldn’t bring himself to touch her. In the end, he had the feeling that he would get swallowed up by it. He was going to lose control. Gina says that he was stopped by the deepest part of himself. He steered himself away from something that would hurt him and hurt a woman that he cared about.

Paul says that Laura told him that she’s come to understand what she’s been doing by using sex to free herself from emotional entanglements. She doesn’t want to do that anymore. Gina says that it’s ironic. Her therapy was a success.

Paul was having a midlife crisis. He’s trying to bail himself out by being with Laura. What matters is that Paul walked away from her.

-She could have been the last great love of my life. What’s left for me now Gina?
-Is that something that we have to talk about?
Gina and Paul in therapy.

* * * * *

Relevant Posts


Posted

in

by

Comments

19 responses to “In Treatment Week 9 Gina Friday 4PM S01E43 (HBO)”

  1. sherby57 Avatar

    I’ve just finished watching the season this week and it was a tremendous piece of television. It’s very interesting that, in the end, the doctor became less self-aware than his students. It was really a brave piece of story-telling.

    My thoughts on the episode are here: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/12/06/stuff-i-watched-2nd-dec-5th-dec-2009/

  2. range Avatar

    I haven’t posted them, but I’ve got write-ups for all of season 2 as well. I really like In Treatment, it’s one of the best shows on TV.

  3. sherby57 Avatar

    I don’t think that there’s any news yet as to when (or if) season 2 will air in the UK. Fingers crossed that it is soon – it’s a really excellent show.

  4. range Avatar

    I’m pretty sure it’s available on Amazon, though I don’t know if it’s available in the UK. Season 2 was great. There will be a 3rd season of In Treatment in 2010.

  5. sherby57 Avatar

    I think that only season 1 is available on Region 2 DVD as of yet. I also tend not to buy box sets if I can help it because I pay enough for satellite TV, and I want to get my money’s worth! In fairness, it would probably be cheaper to do away with Pay TV and just buy DVDs instead. Plus we’re still waiting for season 4 of The Office in the UK and you’re already on season 6 in the US. Very frustrating.

    1. sherby57 Avatar

      And I’ve just read that you’re not in the US… so scrap that comment!

  6. range Avatar

    Don’t worry. I’m a Canadian studying in Taipei. As for DVDs, I don’t rent/buy any anymore. I download all of my stuff, and promptly erase it. So I follow series in the UK, US, some AU.

    I liked Collision on ITV with Douglas Henshall. It was really good.

  7. sherby57 Avatar

    I heard a few good reports about Collision, but it was on ITV, so I assumed that it would be awful!! They don’t seem to repeat their big dramas on ITV2 either, which is a shame.

  8. range Avatar

    Yes, Collision was quite good. I like Henshall, ever since Primeval. As you might have guessed, I’m a Doctor Who fanatic. I’ve watched the show on and off since 1986 with Tom Baker. Arguably, he’s still my favorite Doctor, though David Tennant is quite good and will be sorely missed after that young guy Smith takes over.

  9. sherby57 Avatar

    I do really like Tennant in the role, but I’m looking forward to seeing what Matt Smith and his leggy assistant can do. Steven Moffat has been the best ‘new Who’ writer, and is a cracking writer, generally, so I am sure it is in safe hands.

    1. sherby57 Avatar

      This has just reminded me of the one Dr Who piece that I ever wrote, when I first started my blog: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/01/06/new-who/

  10. range Avatar

    I’m a bit annoyed at these one-shot movies that they’ve been doing because of David Tennant’s acting commitments. Dr. Who needs a full on series. Thankfully, it will start soon in 2010.

    1. sherby57 Avatar

      It will be certainly be interesting to see where the new creative team take it.

  11. range Avatar

    I agree. He’s going to be the youngest doctor, of that I’m pretty sure.

    1. sherby57 Avatar

      A big deal has been made about his age, but, for me, the important fact is that they have picked an actor for the role rather than a ridiculous bit of stunt-casting. I’m really looking forward to it.

  12. range Avatar

    I am too. It’s coming up soon I think.

Leave a comment